New Owner: Select Trac 4x4

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rchung813

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm new to Jeeps so please forgive my ignorance. I recently purchased a Jeep Liberty 2007 Limited class. Before buying the Jeep Liberty I had the opportunity to drive a rental when I went traveling this past summer. The Jeep was great and it was one of the main reasons I choose to buy it.

It's been about a month since I bought the Jeep and I have not use the 4WD F/T option. Today I had my opporunity to test it since I was out and the road was wet from the rain. I get into my Jeep, turn on the engine and shifted the 4x4 gear to F/T. I began to backout of my parking space and then make a turn to get out of the spot. As I turn the wheel to make a sharp turn, the car didn't seem to move. I applied a little more gas to get the Jeep to move, but to no avail. I didn't put more gas into the turn because I didn't want to force anything or cause an issue with the engine or the transfer case. So I put the car back to 2WD and the car was able to backout with the turn without an issue.

From reading some of the discussions here I thought my Jeep would be able to run 4WD F/T without an issue. However I ran across this post -

"all wheels spin at the same speed regardless, and when taking sharp turns, there is no wheel to make up that difference in rotation when turning, and therefore you get driveline binding, or sometimes called wheel hop. "

Is this happening on my F/T 4WD Jeep Liberty?

06Liberty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure about the Jeeps, but the 4x4 Ford Ranger that I had before I got my 2wd Liberty would do the same thing when it was in 4wd HI.....you couldn't turn sharp at all, but if it was in 4wd LO it was fine. I'm guessing this is about the same problem, if so you're not alone.

FoxChung

Reaction score