My KJ stumbles

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

qraa

Reaction score
Hi Guys, this is my first post, even thought I've been checking this forum for a few months now and I think it's great, lots of good tips and a lot of help.

About a month ago I bought a 03 KJ with about 62.000 miles on it, I think I got a good deal for her, besides I love her since the first time I saw her.

After I bought her I took her for a short trip, about 3 hours on highway, when I arrived to town, I had to stop for lights, traffics, etc, I noticed before coming to a full stop it stumbled, like when releasing a gear, but a really strong stumble. This kept happening until I turned it off and let it cool down.

Now I’m worried because I’ve been searching in the forum for some posts that says something similar, but I haven’t found anything.

Is this something common in Liberties? What do you think it is?

Thanks guys, anything would be appreciated.

qraa

libertyman

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Will mine seems to do the same thing, I also have a 03 with 117,000kms on it, I also find when I go from park to rev and rev to drive it bucks forward or reverse, engine rpms seem normal, so ya anyone have some input on this?

Marlon_JB2

Kombat Edition Jeep
Reaction score
Ontario thing?

The transmission bucking is normal, Chrysler transmissions take a long time to shift into gear, and the bucking is the result of hitting the gas too hard. Inclines can also make the transmission buck forward or reverse.

Prest989

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I get that sometimes when shifting from REV to Drive and hitting the gas quickly after shifting to drive. I've gotten used to it, and hope its nothing serious.

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score