Manufacturing a KK Liberty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
The KK was manufactured at the Toledo North Assembly Plant.
Here is an insight as to how the KK was made.
Yes a huge Plant & Robot City !!
xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media
You must be registered for see images attach

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Love those Robots!
I worked in the Mainframe Computer Industry...IBM then Hitachi Computers and peripherals.
At one stage we sold an automated computer tape-loader Robot that loaded computer tapes in place of operators.

The first Robot I worked on was an old-style Westinghouse...very slow and inaccurate as it used standard gears with potentiometers to measure where the joints were.

We looked into replacing them with something more modern and I was sent to look at the ABB Robots much like those in the video to replace the old stuff.

Those new Robots are amazing!. Extremely fast and accurate to maybe 2 mm at full stretch!

Ended up our German suppliers had come to the same conclusion and had already procured GMF Fanuc Robots to replace the old Westinghouse. Fanuc made the robots that General Motors used so GM decided to buy into Fanuc! Probably 80% of the worlds robots are made in Japan.

I was in my seventh heaven working on the Robots and became the Expert on them...making some changes to them and re-programming them when needed much to the chagrin of our German Overlords!;)

Last edited:

LONGJEEPOWNER

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The KK was manufactured at the Toledo North Assembly Plant.
Here is an insight as to how the KK was made.
Yes a huge Plant & Robot City !!
You must be registered for see images attach

Wow that red Libby looks like mine!

Jeremy-WI

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Love those Robots!