loud/struggling fuel pump 02 kj

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JeepCoMJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My 02 (salsa red/orange) has this awesome fuel pump whine. Our other 02 ltd rene does not.

key in run, whines until pressure is built up. engine running, whines while supplying pressure. tank close to empty, whines. tank full, whines. tank halfway, whines.

I'm not new to failing pumps. I am new to replacing them with 125000 miles on a vehicle...never had one go that early.

I'm a mechanic by trade, so as all things go, my vehicles are meticulously repaird when I first get them...and then I let things go downhill, fixing only when need be, if it's not a pressing issue. A fuel pump is a pressing issue to me.

I guess I could be asking is if there is a regulator that could be clogged or something of that nature causing the whine. There is no return line, so my logic says no. But what is there for a regulator, could cause it to fail closed or open, causing too much pressure too quickly, or too little, with the same resulting whine.

The jeep feels underpowered for what it is. It has 235/70R16 on it with factory 3.73's. The Rene has 32x11.50R16's and 4.10 gears (numerically inferior ratio to my stock tire/gear set, 4.56 would be better) and has more power and a smoother run to it.

Mine runs a bit "rough" on cold start-up and then seems to almost have a little "hitch in it's step" (miss) at idle. Just a bit choppy. I had chalked it up to the fact that I have a supposed 120,000 mile junkyard motor in it that I really haven't been inside, other than valve covers...but now sitting and thinking about it, even with the known issues these jtec motors have, plus the fuel pump whine, I've settled on fuel being the issue, as it is logical.

What this boils down to;