Install a second compressor for air

Discussion in 'Fabrication' started by pivert, Nov 3, 2016.

  1. pivert

    pivert Full Access Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Location:
    France
    The question is simple:

    Can I install a second AC compressor to produce compressed air?
    If yes, I'd like to install it between the air box and the original air-conditioning compressor.

    Your opinions ?
     
  2. JasonJ

    JasonJ Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    Um... an A/C compressor doesn't work exactly the same...

    Should be no reason why you can't install an electrical air compressor pump, however. Maybe not in that location, but hardwiring one into the vehicle systems wouldn't be difficult.. although I question the practicality when you can just plug it into a 12v outlet in the vehicle anyhow...
     
  3. boboborino

    boboborino Full Access Member

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Location:
    Lorette, Manitoba, Canada
    Something that's not really done much in the liberty world as most don't off road to that extreme(or even close to). Maybe TJKJ2002? I'm not sure if it can be done. Worth it though? IDK. If you do, be sure to let us know how it goes.

    Bert
     
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2016
  4. renegade 04

    renegade 04 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,432
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Location:
    Albany New York
    I am very interested in doing something like this myself, just have not asked the question.
     
  5. Kj/toy

    Kj/toy Full Access Member

    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 2, 2013
    Location:
    Chillicothe,Ohio
    You

    Some guys mounted them in the hatch area.
     
  6. tommudd

    tommudd Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    16,990
    Likes Received:
    107
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Southeastern Ohio
    Anything is possible although it does take quite a bit of work.
    I'm not TJKJ but will add my 2 cents anyways :icon_razz:
    In the past I've built 4 with Sadan compressors, they put out about 7-9 CFM if set up correctly. One of the issues was they are lubricated by the freon, so you have to use some type of in line oiler like an in line air tool oiler.
    Of course that also has to be replaced and checked on a regular basis , worked good for air tools though, of course like any air compressor, switches, lines to run etc , lots go into building one that works good.
    Much easier to just buy an aftermarket air compressor in the long run so many out there any more to choose from anymore.
     
  7. boboborino

    boboborino Full Access Member

    Messages:
    571
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Location:
    Lorette, Manitoba, Canada
    As I knew you would

    :happy160:

    Bert
     
  8. JasonJ

    JasonJ Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,466
    Likes Received:
    29
    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Location:
    Michigan
    Interesting that an A/C compressor can put out that much volume of air.. never looked at the specs for that. I'd wonder about how much pressure they could generate outside of their intended purpose... and actual A/C system can get pretty high, so that may actualyl work (well).

    It seems to me that you would be limiting yourself by installing a mechanical air pump instead of an electrical one, however. Say something happens and the engine is inoperable out in the trails (ran out of gas, drivebelt snapped and you didnt bring a spare, anything..), if you can't run the engine, you can't run your second air pump to inflate your tires to be towed out.

    If the counter is that the other wheelers would have an air compressor you could use, then why install one in the first place? At least an electric air compressor can be connected to any 12v source and used that way.
     
  9. pivert

    pivert Full Access Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2016
    Location:
    France
    OK, so in conclusion, it's better to have an electrical compressor.

    Thank's for your help.
     
  10. Fingwizard

    Fingwizard New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2017
    Location:
    Mississippi
    I have a durecell 3000watt inverter I will sell that will run a compressor off 12v.