Help!!! Key won't come out of ignition

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Marlon_JB2

Kombat Edition Jeep
Reaction score
I worked as a valet for years, and you've pretty much tried everything we used to do in these situations.
Oh I love it when that happens. One day a car disappeared because we had no choice but to leave the key in the ignition. Then, when we informed them that it was stolen, they um... admitted that they knew the key was gonna get stuck!!! What dummies. Heck they're probably the ones that stole it. People valet all the time just to try to get stuff fixed or get a new car, etc.
eeeh? So when you have an auto you do not have a 'button' on the steering column?

(to take the key out I need to push a button first)

Not threadjacking, I thought it may have had something to do with Jeepowner's problem.

Manual Transmissions Only, Tony. :)

New Liberty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Oh I love it when that happens. One day a car disappeared because we had no choice but to leave the key in the ignition. Then, when we informed them that it was stolen, they um... admitted that they knew the key was gonna get stuck!!! What dummies. Heck they're probably the ones that stole it. People valet all the time just to try to get stuff fixed or get a new car, etc.

Yikes! Can't say that ever happened to us...mind you we had a huge secured area that was only accessible by staff.

boebr1

Full Access Member
Reaction score
had this problem start yesterday... pulled the silver bezel. found i can push the cable forward to relase the key, but then when i get back in to start driving, i have to push a little tab down that is down on the side of the shifter, behind the transmission linkage cable so that i can get it out of park... is this a worn out spring in the shifter assembly, or maybe something easy to fix in there?

boebr1