Detailed the KJ

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

the_dealer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ever since buying my KJ, I've been wanting to get around to doing a little paint correction on it. I've been too busy doing other things to it, and have been neglecting the paint. I didn't have much going on at my shop, so I took the rest of the day off to do a little cleaning on the KJ. When it comes to detailing I'm a newbie, so I'm sure it could've turn out better if I knew wtf I was doing lol.

Here's what I did:
1) Rough wash with Turtle Wax Car Wash
2) Normal wash with Turtle Wax to clean the most possible before clay bar treatment.
3) Clay bar treatment using Meg's Clay Bar kit
4) Another light washing with TW
5) 2nd clay bar treatment using the other bar in the kit
6) Ultimate Compound treatment
7) 2 coats of Gold Class paste wax with TW Liquid ICE around/on trim, roof rack, and door handles.

I spent just under 6 hours on the exterior and I'll be doing the interior tomorrow. About 30 minutes after I finished, it started storming. I'm happy with the way it turned out, but wouldn't mind using a DA the next time. Now on to the pics...

Final results
You must be registered for see images attach

After 2nd clay bar treatment, getting ready to start with the Ultimate Compound

After Ultimate Compound and 1st coat of wax

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
Looks great! What kind of DA are you looking into? Or do you already have one?

Dave

Administrator
KJ Supporting Member
KK Supporting Member
Reaction score
Looks very good.

Dave

Hedsic

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Nice looking KJ you got.

My favorite part about washing/waxing is feeling the finish on the Jeep afterward.