Accelerating/revving up to 3K all the time bad for the engine?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ahjjones

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey,

So I'm a newbie at all things mechanical, and I was wondering if it's bad for my Libby if I rev up to 3K to accelerate from a dead stop. I usually do it the majority of the time, but I don't want to cause long term damage. It feels like if I rev around 2-2.5 it takes FOREVER to get up to speed, but 3K seems to be the sweet spot to a speedy take off. I did it in the my old Intrepid all the time, but it seemed to rev a lot faster. Any opinions?

Thanks again!

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
I wouldn't say that pampering the KJ is the best but jack rabbit starts sure ***** back the fuel and can be ******* rear tires and diff. I normally let my Kj well warm up like 20 minutes of driving it easy, until the rear LS diff and all components have warmed up, before I accelerate to 3k rpm. Change your rear diff fluid every 12k miles and consider using 85w-140 GL5 as severe service for it.
The ole intrepid did not weigh in at 4400 lbs, so take off in a KJ just is not the same, even though the KJ does perform quite well off the line.

Last edited:

theroofable

Full Access Member
Reaction score
There have been studies to show that accelerating too slowly will yield worse mpgs than a medium rate due to efficiency of the gears. Id say that is fine, and would not "suck" gas.

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score