245/75-16 with lift question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cpliberty04

Reaction score
I'm installing a Rusty's Coil lift next week and have seen different answers about using 245/75 tires. Will I need to pound down the pinch welds or will I be ok without any modifications? Should I add Clevis in the front? I don't plan to do much, if any offroading, other than the beach and maybe light trails with Firestone ATs.

Really as far as looks go, 'filling in the wheel well', is there really that much difference in the 245/70 and the 245/75? I think it's only an inch or a little less in tire height between the two. I don't want the tires to look like doughnuts.

I guess as far as tourque and gas mileage go, I will lose more with the 75s than the 70s right?

Sorry, I'm still a newbie at this.

Thanks!

CRD4Liberty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Most report loosing 1.5 to 2 mpg, about 5% perfomance, ****** kicks down a lot more on hiway. I see no advantage to lift for beach use. Spend the money on the tires, and another set after that besides.

cpliberty04

Reaction score
Thanks.

CRD4Liberty - That's what I was kinda thinking. Maybe I shouldn't install the lift. It might cost me more than it's really worth for me. I thought it would look cool but I didn't realize that it would cost me 2mpg gas mileage, tourque and whatever else may be effected. Rusty won't be happy if I return my kit. #-o

hyde

KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
I did a bit comparison, and don't get how 245 vs 235 has so much difference. Isn't it only a bit wider?

cpliberty04

Reaction score
The width is the same for the 245s but the 245/75 is 1" taller. Going from my current tire 235/70 it's 1.5" taller but I'm lifting 2.5"

235/70 is 29.1 diameter and 9.5 wide (current tire - no lift)
245/70 is 29.6 diameter and 9.7 wide (+ .5" taller than current tire)