2005 question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rennie2k5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I used to have a Libby 03 sport and just stepping on the gas, the thing would peel out.
I feel my 2005 renny is lacking that power. sometimes it cant get out of its own way. I have 6k miles on it. I was wondering if anybody who has traded to a newer model notices the same thing. Is there anything I should look in to?

Amarony

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Gear Ratio

I'm new to the Libby with my 2005 Renny but I'm wondering if it's possibly the gear ratio. The Limited and Renny have different gear ratios but the same engine so that would be my guess as to the difference you're seeing.

Bennett

Administrator
Reaction score
Yea, the different ******'s and gear ratios can all effect how the power is put to the ground.

Bennett

rennie2k5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thank you, im glad its not anything wrong then..but it is making me miss the 03's power

Marlon_JB2

Kombat Edition Jeep
Reaction score
It's definitely the lower gear ratio of the '03. My '04 can peel out. '02-'04 had 3.73:1, '05 has 3.55:1. This improved the highway MPG by 1 extra MPG.

rennie2k5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
so I should be getting better gas milage with the 05 renny? but I'm not. I used to get between 18 -19 mpg with my sport and I'm only getting 17.5 with the renny. (Aeh)

jeepmed

Full Access Member
Reaction score
rennie2k5 said:
so I should be getting better gas milage with the 05 renny? but I'm not. I used to get between 18 -19 mpg with my sport and I'm only getting 17.5 with the renny. (Aeh)
Yeah but its the coolest Liberty ever made. =D> \:D/ O:)

2003KJ

Reaction score
rennie2k5 said:

how many miles ya got on the clock? If it's still a young'n it might need to finish breaking in first.

rennie2k5

Full Access Member
Reaction score