2.8 Limited losing power after 1500rpm

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Red Rain

Reaction score
Hi All!

I'm a newbie to the Jeep world and loving it! but yesterday a problem started happening while driving.

On startup and idling its fine, but when I push it, while driving, about +/- 1500rpm and hold it it begins to jerks slightly losers powers. If I proceed to open it up further, the revs climb (not as fast as they should) and I begin to get a sound as if it trying to suck air from the inside of the car.

I have only had this for 2 months now so still learning the about it, but if anyone could help with some advise, that would be great.

Thanks,
Jay.

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Check that the thick rubber hoses (CAC hoses) going from the turbo to the intercooler and then from the intercooler to the intake manifold have not developed a split or tear in them...take them off to have a good look.

If these are ripped try to get SAMCO silicone hoses....avialable in different colours....see what I did there....and last much longer.

If that is not your problem then go to the CRD "Love the Torque" section at LOST JEEPS • Index page

That is the best place for CRD problems...and let them know what year your Export CRD is. I am out of action for the next week so cannot comment further!

Red Rain

Reaction score
Nice one! just checked quickly by hand and found a split straight away nearer the intercooler.

Will most likely have to wait a week to get sorted though, is it ok to drive still while its like this? I am assuming if I keep at low revs?

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Nice one! just checked quickly by hand and found a split straight away nearer the intercooler.