New to Jeeps

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Slowrider

Reaction score
Hello all,

I’m new to Jeeps. I bought this 2006 Liberty Renegade back in December for cheap. It ran rough and had a lot of warning lights on. The suspension was shot and I found that the engine has low compression. I plan on either rebuilding the 3.7 or buying a reman to replace it with. It also has bad bearings in the rear and the brakes were shot. I put all new suspension under it and all new brakes and a new to me rear axle assembly. Now I just need to find a machine shop to get a general quote on machine work for the heads and block to decide if I rebuild or buy reman. Now I need to see how much it will cost to have the rockers fixed as they are pretty rusty. I’ve never been a Mopar fan (not had good luck in the past) but this jeep has been the easiest car I have ever worked on. This is supposed to be for my oldest as he will be driving soon but I’m thinking of getting another one only in a manual for myself or the younger one when they start driving.
You must be registered for see images attach

Jeremy-WI

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You might like it until you have to replace upstream oxygen sensors
My 06 Renegade is blue and likely to be missing drivers side fog light. Has 185k on it.
The 2006 might frustrate a kid as it has advanced traction control so no burnouts but it is fairly safe cornering in snow

Slowrider

Reaction score
Both upstream o2 have already been replaced. That and rear backing plates were the two things I had a shop do while trying to diag the rear end noise and the rough running. The jeep is not for burnouts. If the kid want to do burnout he can use my truck 2010 Chevy Colorado with the 5.3v8. It’s about to get a new truck Norris cam if all goes well.

ccg2301

Reaction score