Synthetic Oil

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

maureen58

Reaction score
I am rather new to KJ Country, although I have been reading the forum for some time. It seems that some people love their Liberty and others bad mouth them. Personally I am on my second Liberty. The first was a 2003 Limited with basic equipment. Cloth seats but definitely a Select-Trac. In fact I had 2 Cherokees before the Liberties both with Select-Trac. I consider Select-Trac as important as A/C. Anyways, my first Liberty had no problems in 37,500 miles. The only reason I traded it in was the deals being offered. My new one has the leather interior and a few other nice features. Quality wise it seems even better than the first but only time will tell for sure. I got it because I got more vehicle for no interest and $50.00 a month less in payments. A no brainer. Anyway the question I need answered and maybe it has been discussed elsewhere, is does anyone use or recommend synthetic oil and what kind of results were seen. I may want to keep this one for awhile and want to know if synthetics are worthwhile. Thanks

grogiefrog

Full Access Member
Reaction score
This is a well done private study done on synthetic oil that I would recommend to you.

http://neptune.spacebears.com/cars/stories/oil-life.html

I personally have been using Mobile 1 since the first oil change in my KJ.

I have been using Castrol Syn-Tec in my Honda since day one. The reason I went to it in my Honda is that I was changing the oil at 12,000 miles (which use to be every 8 months). I felt that I could do that with synthetic. But no I'm not waiting that long with my KJ as I care more about it and hope to keep it for a long time! Plus it has shorter trips put on it, so I'm changing the oil about every six months. That is just how I am doing it.