turn signal stalk broken...

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

sixpot

Reaction score
Hi Folks - newbie here - apologies in advance for the stupid questions I'll no doubt be asking... (biggrin)

We've got a 2002 KJ and it rocks! It's our first Jeep and we're very impressed. =D> [-o< So far it's been totally solid but my wife recently caught her jacket on the turn signal stalk (well that's her story.. :-k ) and the left signal now won't stay engaged. In fact you have to keep it pressed hard down and wobble it around to make contact.

I'm reasonably adept at wrenching and haven't had a look at it yet, but I was hoping that one of you good folks could pre-warn me as to how hard it might be to pull it off and fit a new one? Is it as simple as a couple of screws and a connection plug or will I need to take half the car apart and break out the soldering iron?? 8-[

Cheers!
Luke

hyde

KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
That's mostly how I drive and use the turn signal anyway. :) I rarely engage the clicker down while turning or changing lanes. I keep thinking it will brake one day.

As for the job, it depends on exactly what is broken, it might as well be just a spring and dislocated joint, unless the the arm hangs down :)

sixpot

Reaction score
Thanks for that. I hear you.

The main reason I haven't looked at it yet is because we bought a bumper to bumper warranty and as far as I'm concerned it should be covered and fixed by someone else. I have enough 'rolling projects' going on without taking a 'new' vehicle apart (biggrin) However I just rang up the stealership and it sounds like they're going to try to wriggle out of it. Frankly I just want it fixed asap as it's really irritating. If I have to do it then so be it...

Cheers
Luke

2003KJ

Reaction score
First off, (welcome)!