lift advice needed

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dieseledkj

Reaction score
Newbie here, I'm looking at adding a little lift in order to clear a larger tire. I want to do a complete lift but the funds arn't there right now. I'm thinking about a 3 washer clevis lift and adding 2 spring isolaters on each side. I'm looking at a couple of tires sizes (Toyo 235/75/16 - Toyo/AT2 245/70/16 - Toyo/AT2 245/75/16) any advice would be helpful.

kc7jlm

Reaction score
I have a Rocky Road Outfitter Rockfather lift on mine and it has been exceptional. I have been on some 8+ rated trails with it and have no issues. I can think of a better lift for $400. You do not need to change anything. This lift uses OME spring and a 1/2" steel spacer up front and a spacer in the rear. It is very easy to install, just need to rent a strut compressor from the local auto parts store. Only took about 4 hrs.

Atrus

Full Access Member
Reaction score
FWIW....In the next few weeks here, I will be putting on Rusty's .75" front spacer (from what I read, yields between 7/8"-1.5" of lift). I may do a clevis lift too. I just ordered 2 sets of isolators for the rear. I'm going to play around to get the highest combination I can without the rear end looking like it's sagging.

From what I am told, that will clear 245/75/16's. Time will tell...I have 4500 miles on my KJ right now, so I won't be getting tires for a while...can't justify the cost when mine are so new, and even if I could, they aren't in the budget after my down payment.

I think you could also do the 1.5" or the larger (2" or 2.5"?) Daystar lift for about $200-$250 max. I am not sure how much ride quality suffers. For me, I figure the small extra lift in the actual front strut assembly shouldn't tax the strut too badly, and then if needed I'll do a clevis lift too.