EGR bypass input & repair manual - 06 Liberty CRD

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Lara81

Reaction score
I am new to the Jeep world and trying to learn the basics when it comes to repair of my 06 Liberty CRD. I am definately not a mechanic but want to attempt to do as much as I can myself, prior to taking it in to the shop.

My first question is - Does anyone know where to find a repair manual for the 06 liberty CRD that doesn't cost a small fortune?? online download maybe?

Also, my liberty has about 149xxxkms on it. I have only put about 9k of those since I bought it a couple months ago. The check engine light began coming on about 2 weeks ago but would go out every couple of days, then come back on. I have not noticed any loss of power, decreased fule mileage, unusual sounds etc, it still seems to run great. My commute is about 120 per day up and over a small steep mountain, so I run it fairly ******* a regular basis! I have had a buddy read the codes and the 299 & 401 came up. There do not appear to be any turbo leaks, and I cleaned the boost pressure sensor (which I will likely replace because it was quite gummed up) as well as the air intact sensor (i think). The light went off for a day and a half and has come back on again. Next I was going to look into bypassing the EGR all together. I have heard that it is common to have EGR issues and isn't hard to bypass it and get a simulated EGR that tricks your computer into thinking it is still functioning to keep the engine light off?

Any thoughts or suggestions would be very much appreciated!

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am new to the Jeep world and trying to learn the basics when it comes to repair of my 06 Liberty CRD. I am definately not a mechanic but want to attempt to do as much as I can myself, prior to taking it in to the shop.