Vibration from rear?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jsepps

Reaction score
My gf's 2002 got some noise coming from the back. I'm not a mechanic and I've been working out of town so I don't have much time to look at it. It's not tire noise and I can't see anything obvious. When I put the transfer case in neutral the sound seems to go away when coasting.

Any ideas ?

Thanks

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First I would check the u-joints on the rear drive shaft (connects the t-case to the rear diff)...I just did mine yesterday pretty easy job and cheap.

jsepps

Reaction score
Thanks , U joints were my first thought but there doesn't seem t be any play in them. I will probably just change them anyway to see if it fixes it

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
the u-joints won't have play in them...they will be really tight/hard to move...it is easier to judge them if you disconnect the drive shaft from the rear axle and try to move the joint by hand.

dude1116

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Just had a similar problem. It's either the U-joints on the rear drive shaft (that was my issue. One end was seized in one motion direction.) or the t-case end CV joint. You can check that by looking at the joint to try to find a tear in the boot, or just removing the front drive shaft completely to see if the noise goes away. Being that you say that it's coming from the back, I'm guessing U-joints. Mine also had no play in them.

LibertyFever

Full Access Member
Reaction score
My company vehicle is a 2013 Dodge Minivan. Since I picked it up a month ago it's had a bad vibration at highway speeds. Immediately i suspected an imbalanced wheel. I've had this happen before.
I took it to the dealership (it's still under warranty) for them to balance all four wheels.