Typical Question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jeeplib05

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Decided to lift my 2005 Sport with 173,*** miles.
Here's the lift I decided on:
Front Springs- OME927
Front Struts- Bilstein (F4-BE5-D916-H0)
Rear Springs- OME948
Rear Shocks- Bilstein (F4-BE5-6458-H7)
Front Bump stops- Teraflex
1/4" Top Plates- JBA <comments on this setup?
The ride isn't terrible at the moment, but for the price of getting new OEM parts, I figured I might as well just lift it. I have zero mechanical knowledge on how to install a lift and am a little nervous on doing so. But, I have to do it myself because the lift kit alone is very expensive and I don't want to pay more to have somebody install it. Also, my KJ is my only vehicle so I'd have to have it done at the most within a day..(I know, I'm inexperienced with this) :whymewhyme:

Here's what I measured from center of wheel to bottom of fender:
Driver's- 18.5"
Passenger- 18"
Driver's Rear- 18.5"
Passenger Rear- ~19.25"

As you can see, my current measurements are a little odd. My first question is this; when I install the lift, how would I make all sides level? Would I have to add more/less things to each side? I'm very particular about things being as perfect as possible and I don't want things to look half-ass. Second question- how long could I go with the lift installed without bigger/wider tires? I'll be spending a lot of money on the lift and wouldn't be able to afford tires at the moment.

Thanks in advance !

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
You're in Ohio,
So that means you have access to the best knowledge in lifting out there.
Pretty good list overall no rear bumpstops mentioned
As far as level afterwards, you're replacing everything that causes the uneveness currently.
Will need install kit for rear shocks, JBA has it

tommudd

Staff member