Transmission question.

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

ixian

Reaction score
Liberty gurus,
Still a newbie here, sorry so many questions. My Renny only has 800 miles!
My next stupid question is when you shift from reverse to drive, do most of you experience a 1-2 second lag before you feel a "bump" and it engages? :-k All of my other cars have been standard transmissions so this is different for me. Very nice not having to shift during traffic jams though!
And on a side note, I've been lurking here for some time and this is a really nice/helpful forum. My old car was a Mitsubishi Eclipse...you should see how that forum got. (argue)

Liberty padawan learner,
Bobby

Trodo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yes, there's a lag. It's best to give it that second or two, or you'll lash the drivetrain.

Bennett

Administrator
Reaction score
Yea I just wait 2 seconds before giving it lots of fuel, so it doesn't squack the tires. Our F150 does the same thing, it has a 2 second shifting period.

rennie2k5

Full Access Member
Reaction score
my 03 libby sport used to do that....it 'banged' into gear....i noticed that my new renny is a lot smoother.

socalrenegade

Reaction score
shudder/lag in reverse