trans cooler lines

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by belvedere, May 5, 2009.

  1. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    I ordered new trans cooler lines for my '06. Has anyone replaced these before? The service manager at the dealer warned me that they are "a real b1tch" to replace, and that a special tool is needed for the connections. Any advice is appreciated.
     
  2. JeepJeepster

    JeepJeepster Full Access Member

    Messages:
    8,414
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    Dem hollers in Ky
    Just depends on how you want to install it. If you want, just cut the lines going to the current tranny cooler and hook in series with it. Grab some barbs and clamps and call it a day.
     
  3. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    I'm not adding a cooler. I'm replacing the stock cooler lines.
     
  4. JeepJeepster

    JeepJeepster Full Access Member

    Messages:
    8,414
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    Dem hollers in Ky
    Haha, my bad.. Didnt see the 'lines.'
     
  5. HoosierJeeper

    HoosierJeeper Gold Supporter/Admin Staff Member Administrator

    Messages:
    20,735
    Likes Received:
    109
    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2009
    Location:
    Western WI

    I get it!!!! (Finally, a pun I understood!!!):D
     
  6. J-Thompson

    J-Thompson Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    just south of doucheville


    why are you doing this?
    are you having problems with your current lines?
    just replacing 3 year old parts for the sake of doing it is asking for work
    if you like work that much...
    my yard needs mowing
    my Jeeps need a good cleaning
    the trans fluid on the TJ should be changed ,wont hurt to change the KJ while you are at it
    I need the north side of my house washed ,green slime on it
    I need to get some crown molding up in my living room
    if this is not enough to keep you busy I can think of more
    Just kidding
     
  7. tjkj2002

    tjkj2002 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    10,614
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere between being sane and insane!
    You will need a 5/16" or 3/8" fuel line disconnect tool.There not real hard to replace if doing on a lift but will be a pain doing on the ground.
     
  8. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    Thanks for the reply. I talked to a Chrysler-Jeep mechanic I know. He said pretty much the same, that it would be very difficult to position the lines without having it on a lift. Guess I'll have to take it in.
     
  9. Powerslave

    Powerslave Banned

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh - Come & Get Me!
    There is no way to splice in transmission hose? I looked at mine, and if the metal lines went bad, I would just splice in some hose, unless the fittings/connectors AT the transmission were bad. Just wondering, why exactly, you need to replace the entire deal there...
     
  10. JeepJeepster

    JeepJeepster Full Access Member

    Messages:
    8,414
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2004
    Location:
    Dem hollers in Ky
    I was also wondering that. If some connections went bad I would just cut them out and put some hoses in. Excellent time to put in a bigger cooler also.
     
  11. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    The mechanic I talked to (who I know and trust) said that he wouldn't do that because of the pressure in the lines.
     
  12. J-Thompson

    J-Thompson Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    just south of doucheville

    dude
    you still have not answered why you are going through all this
    second I have at least 1 splice and both the connectors for my cooler are barb fittings
    thinking about it
    all my rubber lines are connected with hose clamps on each end
    1 has a splice and I have no leaks
     
  13. tjkj2002

    tjkj2002 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    10,614
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Location:
    Somewhere between being sane and insane!
    When the vehicle is off there is zero pressure in the trans cooler lines since the engine needs to be running for the trans pump to work.
     
  14. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    Dude, why do you think? For fun? One of the lines is leaking at both crimps.
     
  15. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    Um, right. He was talking about when the vehicle is running.
     
  16. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    Just a little bored, I guess. I thought about rebuilding the engine, or maybe swapping in a warmed-over 360 I have laying around, but that seemed more like a weekend project. This seemed more like a lunch-hour type project.

    But no, no problems with the current lines...they're pristine. :D
     
  17. Powerslave

    Powerslave Banned

    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2009
    Location:
    Pittsburgh - Come & Get Me!
    There is not so much pressure that a splice won't work. If you can, you can flange out the ends and use the hoses. There is a tool you can put into the metal tube, and flair it out so the band-clamp works better. LOTS of people have replaced their OEM metal lines with just hose, and you you would have to, to ADD another cooler anyway...
     
  18. J-Thompson

    J-Thompson Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,048
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Location:
    just south of doucheville


    The easy fix is
    remove dinky crimps ,if they are the ones that you take off by squeezing
    replace rubber line with new rubber line
    replace crimps with GOOD QUALITY hose clamps
    *note buy extra line and some extra clamps and a barb type line splice keep the line and clamps in a zip lock bag if you ever bust a trans line you can fix it in 2 minutes

    if they are the ones that have the steel clamped around them via a machine
    you can
    cut the hard line
    flair end just a little with a flair tool
    buy new rubber line ,clamps, ect.
    slide the rubber line down past the flair enough so the clamp is on the back side of the flair ,the clamp can keep the line from leaking and with the flair it will not come off
    or
    get a compression fitting to an npt fitting
    get a barb to npt fitting
    and install with new rubber line
    cut hard lines and install compression fitting
    install barb fitting to compression fitting
    use new rubber hose
    all of these are 10X easier than replacing the OE lines
     
  19. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD

    You don't "take off" crimps, by squeezing or any other way.
     
  20. belvedere

    belvedere Full Access Member

    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2008
    Location:
    SD
    OK, guys, this thread is derailed worse than a freight train. Yes, I've flaired steel lines, etc, etc. My original question was:

    It appears that only tjkj has. Thanks for the replies, now let's put this poor thread out of it's misery.