****** fluid pouring out

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Amy

Reaction score
So last week I started my o4 Jeep Liberty so it could warm up while I finished getting ready for work. I went outside to leave and there was a puddle of transmission fluid. So a friend told me that one of my cooler lines probably broke. He came over showed me which one was broke. Then today I went to advance got the hose that I needed and replaced it. I put 1 quart of ****** fluid in so far I don't see it leaking anywhere. I've got three more quarts that I can put in. I'm just kind of nervous as to why this happened in the first place. And I am just learning how to fix things on my own so I really I'm hoping this fixed my problem. Just wondering if there is something else I should do to prevent this from happening again. Any advice you can give this girl would be great

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
All will be well, just don't overfill the transmission.
Let the Jeep heat up after driving around for 20 minutes, and take a dip stick reading, running in Park.
Only add ATF+4 fluid if it is below the full mark.

Reactions: Amy

Amy

Reaction score
Well by the time I got the line changed it was completely dry on the dipstick. And yes I got the ATF + 4 ****** fluid to put in it. But I will let it warm up a little bit and do another dipstick reading to see how much is in there or what I need to add to it. Thank you

Amy

Reaction score
Also any ideas on what could have caused this problem to begin with? And beings I am a beginner on learning to fix my own vehicles I do a lot of Googling and youtubing LOL. And the only thing I was Finding was my transmission was overheating. But all my gauges and temperature inside seem to have been working and was reading fine. I just would like to try to avoid this happening again if possible

LibertyTC