To Paint or Not to Paint that is the question

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jimkelly

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am interested in painting the belt line with spray on bedliner. I have already purchased all the supplies but have been hesitant to complete the project. I am nervous on how the finished project will look on my KJ. I don't want to strip and repaint again if I don't like the results.

Here are two pictures. One is the current KJ the other is after the belt line was photo shopped in black (I know I'm a photoshop novice):

You must be registered for see images attach

TruLiberty painted his silver KJ beltline the exact same way in this thread post #5:

http://www.jeepkj.com/forum/showthread.php?t=44081

I know there are better options out there like Herculiner, having a shop spray on liner, etc., but if I do it I'm definately using rattle can.

Do you think it will look good on my KJ?

tjkj2002

Full Access Member
Reaction score

Beltline,roof,and bumpers bedlined.Made it easy since my KJ is a limited that came with painted flares,the sport plastic takes alot of prep work for anything to stick and last.

I used this stuff...............
http://www.uschem.com/index.cfm?page=productDetail&id=125&pid=2

The beltline and roof have been done for almost 9 years,the F/R bumper(and R/R back half flare) is about 3 years old.

bmrrwolfe

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Thanks TJKJ your rig looks awesome. You think mine will look good painted to the crease?

I think it would look good on silver. I wanted to do atl east my bumpers brushguard and flares, but would only do it if I could get the good bedliner, and that stuff is not cheap...

jimkelly

Full Access Member
Reaction score