Sea Sick

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Adam Roby

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Disclaimer: I know nothing about suspensions so please don't flame me too much. A little is fine...

Is it possible for a shock/strut/coil spring to go bad suddenly or within a very short time?

I have been driving my Jeep since last August (8-9 months) and the ride has been fine (as in 10-year old shocks and springs fine - not good but not unmanageable). I do have plans to do a full upgrade, but was hoping to hold it off for a while. Very recently, as in within the past 2 weeks maybe, the ride has gone from not great to almost impossible to handle. It take me 15 minutes to get to work and I want to barf by the time I get here. My wife and daughter now refuse to get in with me... hell, I would almost rather take my wife's Corolla over the Jeep.

• Besides the obvious, shock and coils etc., can anything else be wrong here? I don't really know what links and sway bars do, I don't see anything dangling or obviously loose under the truck. Suggestions for things to look for?
  • Can a suspension or at least 1 item go bad suddenly and affect the entire ride to make you want to barf?
  • I guess its impossible to know if its the front or back that is causing the sickness, any easy way to check which end is worse?
  • Am I missing anything else here?
  • If the OME full upgrade is the only solution, how many hours total to install (I would probably need a garage to do it for me, need to estimate costs). My garage isn't nearly large enough, my back hasn't healed enough from surgery, and I don't have enough quality tools.

This morning's ride almost made me regret getting the truck.
I need to either find a solution or swap for something else... I am simply too nauseous to continue driving this thing. What the hell... 1 month ago it was "fine".