RPMs intermittently stuck when lightly applying gas, slow response over 50 mph

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Here is a video I made of my issue.

xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media

I have an automatic 2007 Jeep Liberty 3.7L with 163K. I live in a rural area so I haven't noticed this issue until recently when I went to visit family and had to quickly maneuver onto exit ramps of the highway. The annoying situations that I now try to avoid are when I'll start applying the gas and the engine will not respond RPMs are just sitting there stuck at one level and if I really push further down on the gas pedal it will kick in or decide to surge and go overboard sound like I'm abusing the engine which makes you immediately lay off the gas pedal. Very frustrating when there's a big rig coming at you. I really did some observations the past 2 days and if I'm going along at say 50 miles an hour and want to increase my speed normally you could push in the gas pedal half inch will say and you would see some RPMs raise but that is not the case. So in the video I have included when I say I am pumping the gas I am just lightly pressing in the pedal maybe an inch. The other thing about my jeep which I got a year and a half ago is that it has had an ongoing quirk of you go to start the car and it takes longer than usual to turn over sometimes you need to just give up after 6 seconds and retry and then start right up during the second try always.
Wondering what my next steps are to get this possibly fixed. Thanks for your help! --Caitlin in Maine
 

Luke

Interloper
Joined
Oct 21, 2008
Messages
4,142
Reaction score
592
Location
Bancroft, Canada
First thing.. get the codes that are causing your check engine light.
I’ve heard some auto parts stores do it for free… if you’re in the USofA.
 
Last edited:

KJowner

Full Access Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2022
Messages
1,080
Reaction score
615
Location
Uk
I would guess the throttle potentiometer is failing, not familiar with the V6 so I don't know if it's on the throttle body or the pedal itself. It's a variable resistor that the ECU uses to see throttle position.
As Luke said, getting the codes checked is a good start, however this may not cause a code because the ECU is just seeing no throttle or full throttle. Depending on where it is and what access is like you may be able to improve things by giving it a good blast of electronic contact cleaner.
Hopefully someone with a V6 will point you in the right direction.
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
I had the codes read a month ago and didn't think they were applicable but I will go get them read again. These are from June 6.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20240606_114019008.jpg
    IMG_20240606_114019008.jpg
    290.5 KB · Views: 10
  • IMG_20240606_113946573.jpg
    IMG_20240606_113946573.jpg
    306.1 KB · Views: 11

klc

“It flies like a truck.”
KJ Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
638
Reaction score
877
Location
PNW
For the Evap codes I suggest looking at the tubing connected to the solenoid up front. Mine had a hole worn through one where it passes close to the battery. You might want to check fuel pressure, could be a problem with the pump.
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
I would like to look into the TPS issue but I can't find anything online regarding removing the thing. It is not mounted with two torx screws like the 2006 which is the only video I could find. Here are pictures and it looks like these clips would snap if I touch them.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20240708_094808899.jpg
    IMG_20240708_094808899.jpg
    320.3 KB · Views: 3
  • IMG_20240708_094819719.jpg
    IMG_20240708_094819719.jpg
    233.2 KB · Views: 3

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
I guess I would have to buy a throttle body gasket before I attempt anything so I can plan on cleaning that during this process.
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
I am thinking for this throttle potentiometer possibly failing and if it is built into my throttle body I don't need to clean it I just need to buy a new throttle body? Does somebody have a V6 2007 Jeep Liberty who has dealt with theirs and can answer or lead me in the right direction regarding if you just replace the throttle body?
 

Gyro

Full Access Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
394
Reaction score
140
Location
Nova Scotia
The tps is part of the gas peddle assembly on 2007-2012.Fly by wire.
I posted a link in my previous post.

Gyro
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Oh okay I was confused by that gas pedal thing. It's amazing how unclear it is on the internet I have honestly done a lot of research on looking this up.
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
So thank you gyro for the clarification. I have another Jeep Liberty which I will be switching these pedals out and see what happens.

xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
I switched out the pedal from my other jeep and disconnected the negative on the battery. I thought it was better but after driving into town and doing errands, i am still getting intermittent issue of slow response to get it out of it's funk of being at a set RPM unless i press the gas harder and it still sometimes surges if i am not being very gradual. Codes were all clear by the way so I didn't bother bringing it somewhere to get read.
 
Last edited:

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Here's my test drive, still happening.


xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media
 
Last edited:

Gyro

Full Access Member
Joined
Sep 12, 2012
Messages
394
Reaction score
140
Location
Nova Scotia
Does it act differently with O/D off?
I see the check engine light is lit.
It should be giving codes of some sort.
There are half a dozen or so codes for TPS and fuel.
Can you get a tech to scan while driving to get some live data?

Gyro
 
Last edited:

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
What do you mean O/D off?
Does O/D = Overdrive? I didnt know I had the option? There is no CEL code so far since i switched the pedal and had negative unplugged for 5 minutes. Did my last post show a link to my video? I think I fixed the link if it wasn't showing before I'm sorry.
I will try to find out about getting live data test.
 
Last edited:

klc

“It flies like a truck.”
KJ Supporting Member
Joined
Jan 14, 2022
Messages
638
Reaction score
877
Location
PNW
What do you mean O/D off?
Does O/D = Overdrive? I didnt know I had the option? There is no CEL code so far since i switched the pedal and had negative unplugged for 5 minutes. Did my last post show a link to my video? I think I fixed the link if it wasn't showing before I'm sorry.
I will try to find out about getting live data test.
Look for a button on the side of the shift lever. When you press that you should see an orange light on the left side of the console.
 

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Wow! I never knew about it! Huge rainstorm when I read the post and this morning went out, there it was!
 
  • Like
Reactions: klc

Spottedbat

New Member
Joined
Sep 8, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
6
Well, I guess now I know how to drive my Jeep better than before! Thanks for the O/D off feature for hills and overtaking vehicles, this is a game changer.
 
  • Like
Reactions: klc
Top