Rear control arm help!!

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

2005jeepliberty

Reaction score
Hi Guys, I'm new to the form. Recently purchased a used 2005 Jeep Liberty 3.7. noted knocking and clunk from the differential area since I bought it. Initially I thought it was the u-joints, therefore I replaced both of them however still the clunk was there. I looked above the differential and their appear to be a control arm which I never even knew existed. A use the pry bar and the ball joint was very loose and made a clunking noise.

Today I was able to remove the rear control arm however I was having a hard time installing the driver side control arm bushing bolt, first it was not going through the bushing itself however I noted the captive nUt that is supposed to be housed in the frame was loose and is spining on its own. I'm not sure what to do now. There's no way I can even see you why the nut is spinning. I can't even hold it with anything. What are my options?

Attachments

• $_10.JPG
    $_10.JPG
    159 KB · Views: 35

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
What tri link did you buy ? ( manufacturer )
some of the cheaper ones are junk

Now on to the captured nut , is it just loose or is it spinning
They are all somewhat loose but when you tighten them down they are good
Run the bolt up in finger tight and then see if you can use a punch to kind of lock it in place

2005jeepliberty

Reaction score
What tri link did you buy ? ( manufacturer )
some of the cheaper ones are junk

Now on to the captured nut , is it just loose or is it spinning
They are all somewhat loose but when you tighten them down they are good
Run the bolt up in finger tight and then see if you can use a punch to kind of lock it in place