Overhead COnsole

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by edpetry, Mar 8, 2018.

  1. edpetry

    edpetry New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2018
    Location:
    Central Ohio
    Hi,
    I bought my first Jeep recently. Nice vehicle. It is a 2003 Sport with 103-104,000 miles. In good shape for the age. One thing I would like to add is the overhead center console. But I have a question about the simplicity of adding one at this point.

    Is this a case of simple buy a used one and add it to the vehicle and everything works (light, temp gauge, etc.). Or is there missing factory wiring that would stop it from working properly?

    Thanks in advance.
    Ed
     
  2. teeje

    teeje Full Access Member

    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 5, 2014
    Location:
    Toledo
    You need the wiring harness and you need to make sure the mounting bracket is already there above the headliner or get one you'll also need a temp sensor. All of these things are universal in the settings as well. When I had my libby, I got everything I needed from a Sebring.

    Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
     
  3. 04Liberty

    04Liberty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    MD
  4. Aceofspades

    Aceofspades Full Access Member

    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    53
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2017
    Location:
    Buffalo

    Damn. That has me sold. Going to start looking around the yards as soon as it warms up
     
  5. BillyG

    BillyG Full Access Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2017
    Location:
    Lynchburg, Virginia
    I am going with a Bluetooth OBD2 connector and the Torque Pro app right now. Maybe down the road I will tackle this, but not this year. I may not be able to change any of the keyless entry settings with the app, but that does not bother me much. I will still get the MPG information as well as a lot of other data from the engine.
     
  6. Rich75043

    Rich75043 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2017
    Location:
    Dallas, Tx
    sounds like mine when I bought it...03 sport 4x4 with 100k. I got lucky and found one on cl from the same year limited. like teeje said, make sure you get the wiring pigtail. I used 4 strand bundled wire from an electronics store to wire into the port...easy peasy. as for the mount we get lucky as our years already has it. you'll be glad you did the mod. oh and a word of advise, if you can remember, take a piece of paper and a pencil with you so you can sketch an outline of the hole in the headliner. will make things so much easier later when you have to operate lol
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2018
  7. 04Liberty

    04Liberty Full Access Member

    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2006
    Location:
    MD
    Make sure you get the right pigtail AND the right module, be it OTIS or EVIC. They vary, some have TPMS and some don't. Don't install a TPMS module into a vehicle not built with it. It will ding constantly and you'll need a dealer level scanner to get rid of the dash light.