OBDLinkMX+

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

rzrbrn48

Reaction score
I have a 2005 Jeep Liberty Sport CRD with about 200K miles. I am the original owner. I keep the oil changed and it has always been maintained and serviced on schedule and by a dealership. Lately it has been in getting repaired a lot. This last time when I picked it up it ran better than it has since about 2007 or so. Then about 50 miles or so after this last repair it went bonkers again. The rpms go up and speed goes down, way down. Engine light is on.

I am not a mechanic. To give you a feel for my level of incompetency, early on, as in 2007 or so, I changed the oil drain plug from the female Allen wrench type to a more traditional male type plug, so it would be easier to unscrew. And then, yes...either I overtightened or one of the oil change shops overtightened and the pan stripped. This was fixed. But this has nothing to do with what is going on now.

I just bought the OBDLinkMX+ bluetooth scanner. I have an iPhone 7s. I downloaded the requisite software and did a firmware update. This scanner works well when connected to my Ram truck. I am hoping to identify the Jeep codes that relate to this newest incident of the engine light coming on and operating as noted above.

However the scanner will not connect to the Jeep. Does anyone have this particular scanner and is there something I am missing? As I said it connects fine to my Ram truck.

I tried to search on this website for any previous discussions related to this subject but to no avail. If this has been addressed in a previous threat would someone please just direct me to it?

LibertyTC

Staff member
Reaction score
Does OBD LinkMX+ have a help phone number? It may be best to consult with company if possible.