Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

jas1941

Reaction score
Hello I am JJO's Uncle. I was an engineering manager at Chrysler for 30 years. I retired in 2001. The last vehicle I worked on was the new Jeep Liberty that was launched in 2002. I can answer a lot of questions about Jeeps in reference to interior trim and glass. Drop me a line if you have a question. I know a lot of the inside stuff that happens during the design, prototype build and manufactur of Jeeps.

For instance there was a lot of concern at Chrysler that people would not go for the new look of the Liberty. A large faction wanted to retain the older "Square" Cherokee apperance. It was decided to keep the old Cherokee when the new Liberty was launched. They wanted to evaluate the publics reaction before commiting to the new look. However, when the people from Mercedes came into the picture they scrapped the plan to keep the old Cherokee. If it wasn't for DamilerChrysler there would have been two Jeeps to choose from.

Flaren

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome! It's great to have someone with your experience and knowledge prowling the boards. I'm sure I'll have a million questions for you soon...lol.

-=JoN=-

Reaction score
whoo hoo...

welcome aboard JJO's uncle....love to hear any more of your stories....and chrysler insight....

\:D/

2003KJ

Reaction score
welcome aboard!!!

I also look forward to hearing more about why stuff was designed the way it was in my Jeep.

Don't know if you know this or not, but who came up with the idea of putting the window switches where they are? DOn't get me wrong, I love the idea, makes me think of my family's old Audi, I was just curious as to who came up with the idea.

grogiefrog

Full Access Member
Reaction score