Limp Mode 2011 Liberty

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

some1help

Reaction score
Hi! I have been searching the internet for some answers to my Jeep problem and came across this page. I have 181,000 miles on my 2011 Jeep Liberty, I bought 2 years ago and it had 145,000. I LOVE MY JEEP and actually I haven't had any issues issues until 2 weeks ago. To set the scene; it was about 100 degrees outside (I am not sure if the heat has anything to do with it but I will just throw out any possible factors) I was turning around in a parking lot and the 3 lights went on that never went on before, the check engine, and Red Flashing light with a lightning bolt inside and another light that showed a indicator of the car swerving. Im sorry if this is vague but I am trying my best and I am far from a mechanic. I shut off my engine immediately and opened the hood. My engine coolant was empty as well as my windshield washer fluid (I was told last oil change the washer fluid was leaking a bit but he said it was not going to effect the engine) Luckily I was by a Loews and was able to fill up the engine coolant. I found a local mechanic and was able to drive it there very slowly in a gear that I found out was called LIMP MODE. This is not a trusted mechanic it was just convenient to where I was. I had a very unfortunate incident happen with a car in the past so I do not trust mechanics unless I know them personally. So I was told that it was in LIMP Mode to protect the engine from further damage. $1,200 later I was called to pick up the car and on my way back to work the car did the same thing and the same lights came on. The mechanic did have it towed back to the shop so we will see. I am curious to see if anyone else has had this problem with their Jeep and can offer any advice.
Thank You,
Desperate for Answers

LibertyTC

Staff member