Light bar Installation

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Liber

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I've been wanting a light bar for a long time now. I called my local dealership and asked how much to install if I bought it. They said they didn't want to do it and that I should call a 4x4 specialty place, So I called a few of those and they all didn't want to do it. Is it really that hard to install?

I'm a bit of a novice, I have done carpentry work, furnature building, and can install my own reciver, so I know my way around tools, but should I even attempt installing a Light bar? I've never really worked on a car before.

Trodo

Full Access Member
Reaction score
No, it's wicked hard, and involves drilling several holes into your roof, if I remember the dealership wants about $800 to install.
You could do it, it does come with all the templets and the such, but if you screw up, that's it. If the dealership screws it up, you can point the finger at them.

Liber

Full Access Member
Reaction score
yeah I thought as much. I was quoted like 699 to install the thing. But if they don't want to even do it then you know it's a pain in the ass. Damn

especko

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Yea basically you are just either going to have to shop around, or try and do this yourself. The main reason the dealsership wont do it is because of liability, but that was already mentioned.

One thing you might wanna try, and this depends on where you live, is calling places that sell truck accessories, and see if they can quote you a price. There are a few places where i live that would probably do it.

BluPhant

Full Access Member
Reaction score