leaking front differential help

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

xIceHoundx

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I have an 05 Liberty Renegade and have a minor leak from one of the output shafts of the differential, driver side I believe, and am planning to replace both driver and passenger side outer seals and pinion input seal, and am wondering what else I will need to replace while im at it to do this job? Someone I know said id have to pull the hubs off and that would mean id have to replace the ball joints, and possibly the axels? Any wisdom yall can drop on me would be greatly appreciated as im new to the jeep world and vehicles like this, thanks

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
You don't have to replace the lower ball joints nor the hubs unless they are bad
Don't listen to that "someone" since it sounds like they have no clue

xIceHoundx

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Ok thanks I figured as much, just wanted to check in here and find out for sure. I just got in the mail today a pinion slinger, pinion seal, axle seals, and some mopar differential addative, is there anything else anyone advises that I should get or replace while doing this anyways?

u2slow

Full Access Member
Reaction score
You want to do the axle shaft bearings (aka bushings) in the diff. That's probably the reason your seals are gone.

I'm into the same job. Diff and shafts are on my bench awaiting a thorough inspection. Jeep is back on the road - seems a bit bouncier without front drivetrain ;)

808inthe949

Reaction score