Jeep KK 4wd

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

JeepKK

Reaction score
OK ill get to the point. I am a college student who bought my Jeep KK brand new. I wanted 4wd but the dealership had none on the lot and they tried to give me a lame story that it would be a couple of months until they got on in stock.

Any who, I figured i would get a 2wd Liberty then convert to a 4wd. now i know i need a transfer case/front axle/front driveshaft. However, outside of that i do not know. I bought a used transfer case off a totaled 2008 Jeep KK and that is it so far. Now i know it is possible because i know a guy who had a KJ and made it four wheel drive I just need to know everything i need.

Also I know the factory Jeep Libertys come with HDC will I Be able to add that? Also my jeep is 2009, I wanna know all the problems I would encounter and Everything needed.

I am new on here so any help would be great and this is not my first jeep! I had Jeep Grand Cherokee.

Last edited:

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score
(welcome) What year GC? I had a 99 WJ 4x4!

Rear drive shaft, front driveshaft, diff, CV's, switch, electronics for the ESP...

Did the transfer case come with the electronic shifting motor?

JeepKK

Reaction score
I had a 99 also 4x4 Loved it. I am not sure if it does how do i tell.

Also to address why I want to change it over is because I love this particular jeep and I wanna say I did something big like this.

HoosierJeeper What do i add to me jeep. I know it has a rear driveshaft and i would need a complete front axle with a diff, and driveshaft and a electronic shifter. you said i would need electronics for the esp, don't exactly understand.

Also I know there is alot to such a build.

HoosierJeeper

Gold Supporter/Admin
Staff member
Administrator
Reaction score