Jeep cherokee renegade lightbar not working

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dopus

Reaction score
Jeep cherokee renegade (KJ) lightbar not working

It is called jeep CHEROKEE renegade here in Europe but it is an KJ

Hi all !

I am trying to fix a few things on my brothers 03 jeep cherekee Renegade.

The two broken wheel studs ( or are they called bolts) where an easy fix.

I am now trying to find out why the roof mounted original light bar does not work! I am new to working on jeep wiring...so if some one can help please take it slow on the technical jeep terms (realay names and fusebox namses etc.)

This is what I DO know about the problem.

1. The bulbs are ok.

2. There is no power getting to the power connector on the roof (the one coming throught the roof)

3. In the engine comparment there is a fusebox near the battery one of the fuses is supposed to be to the rooflights I think it is 20 or 30 amp fuse.
This fuse have 12v no matter if the switch for the rooflights is turned on or off.

4. When the roof light switch is turned on the the light for the roof lights in the instrument cluster turns on.

5. I read somwhere on this forum that fuse 9 (or on some models fuse 23) and 38 in the fusebox on the left side of the dashboard are a part of the the roof light wiring. Checked both 9 and 23 and both fuses are ok. Fuse 23 I dont have.

I am a little bit confused and dont know what to check next.

This is a europe vertion of the jeep cherokee renegade ( still a KJ) but the roof mounted light bar should be the same????

Last edited:

dopus

Reaction score
Did youre switch turn on the roof light symbol in the dash even when it was burned? Is there any way to test the switch (with the relay) or meassure it with a multimeter??? And do i need to have power on it to meassure if it works correct...as its not an on off switch????

dopus