Intermittent No Start / Intermittent Electrical cutout (while driving)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

dothatshht

Reaction score
Good morning all,

I come in hopes that you all can assist me with my 04. I'm new to KJ world. I bought one over the winter for mainly a get around vehicle.

I am having TWO major intermittent issues that keep happening and are getting worse with everyday. And I do not have a single code present at the moment.

Issue #1: The last week or so I've had an intermittent no start. Has power, starter cranks, it just doesn't fire. I would just cycle the key once or twice and then it would start and run with no problem. However, this morning it took me a good 10 minutes to get it to start. Now I am more afraid of getting stuck somewhere since it took so long this morning.

Issue #2: An intermittent, what I want to call an electrical cutout, or "reset" while driving which is more concerning. The entire car shuts off, dash lights up, and then turns right back on (on its own) within a 2 seconds. But at the same time, it resets my radio back to default settings and 12:00 clock.

I am starting to notice that it happens more often in certain situations.
---A) Low speed, when hitting a bump evenly with the front two wheels. IE a road plate from construction, speed bump, etc.
---B) Low speed turning, such as down a side street.
---C) Lifting off of the accelerator abruptly such as taking an embankment off of a highway exit.

Does it always happen during these times, no. Are these the only times it happens, no. But I am at the point where I am paying more attention to the car as I am doing these above so I am noticing the habit.