Hypertech Programmer... how to?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

604KJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I'm looking at possibly getting a Hypertech to help with my horrible shift points, laggy ******, and just overall poor power.

Does anybody know how these things work? I've never used a programmer before. Do you just plug it in and click program or something, or do you have to go over each individual setting? If I do, how would i know what to set things to?

Thanks,

CactusJacked

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The Max Power model 52501 works with his 04. I don't think Hypertech makes one for the 02-03 yet (if ever). I had the old style Hypertech tuner (got it cheap on flebay) for my old Z28. I primarily used it to adjust shift firmness, which it did well. Power increases (by advancing ignition timing) required using premium gas, otherwise the knock sensor would just ****** the timing back down if using low octane gas.

04Liberty

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It might adjust shift firmness, but from what I was told, you cannot adjsut the shift points with any handheld (even with SCT custom tuning). A B&G flash might do it (someone on here got it done) but you have to send in your PCM.

604KJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I Would prefer the B&G route but cant wait for it to come back. + I heard if you make any other mods, you'd have to send it back again.

the_dealer

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I'd go the B&G route. A one size fits all handheld isn't going to net much gain since they are limited to preset timing tables and fuel trim. The tunes pre-loaded on them have to work well at all altitudes, slight differences that vary between vehicles, and not void warranties. B&G can't load tunes on a handheld? Why not buy a used pcm and send it into B&G to be tuned?