HOW TO: Run power for basket roof lights

Discussion in 'How To' started by Bennett, Jan 8, 2005.

  1. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Some people have been asking me how I ran the power to my basket, here's how.

    First, I ran the wires inside of the bar to make it look clean and simple.
    [​IMG]

    It's also nice you can ground the lights inside the bar, so you only need to run one wire down into the engine bay.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    and then it runs down the side of the window. I actually ran two power wires one down both sides of the front window, so that each wire + only runs two lights of the four lights. I did this since then I could use a smaller guage wire, and I put each side on their own relay as well.

    ALSO see TRAILN's thread which came in quite handy when I ran first did the project.

    http://pub21.ezboard.com/fkjjeepfrm33.showMessage?topicID=148.topic

    Later,
    Bennett
     
  2. SRotblat

    SRotblat Full Access Member

    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Location:
    LOST #666
    IMHO the best post yet in the forum =D> =D>
     
  3. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Thanks!

    If anybody has any question feel free to ask.

    Bennett
     
  4. chaz0_man0

    chaz0_man0 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Location:
    Petoskey, Michigan
    Did you wire straight to the battery or did you splice in somewhere?
     
  5. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Yes, it gets its power directly from the battery, but is controlled by a relay.
     
  6. TRAILN

    TRAILN Full Access Member

    Messages:
    437
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2004
    Location:
    Toronto, CANADA
    I made mine with switch power so if I leave them on the shut off with the key. All my electrical is done this way.
     
  7. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    Same here, my relay is connected to the accessory wire with a switch in between.
     
  8. chaz0_man0

    chaz0_man0 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2005
    Location:
    Petoskey, Michigan
    I would like to do the same. Where is the accessory wire found?
     
  9. Bennett

    Bennett Active Member Administrator

    Messages:
    5,415
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2004
    Location:
    Green Bay
    There are many places inside that can be used as accessory wires. Mainly all of my devices that are controlled with relays are just simply tapped into the cigarette lighter at the fuse panel, since it is switched power with the key.

    Bennett
     
  10. Corwyyn

    Corwyyn Full Access Member

    Messages:
    2,540
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Location:
    Southeast of disorder...
    Link doesn't work since the L.O.S.T. forum moved off the sl-ez-board. I don't think he has posted an update on the new board. Found this out when I was surfing recent posts and followed a link over here.
     
  11. kolesy

    kolesy New Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Location:
    Goldsboro, NC
    Hey Bennet, can you elaborate on the wiring of your lights? As how you wired them in with your accesories and such. I would love to have mine wired up and not let them be turned on when my pig ain't runnin.
     
  12. HDP

    HDP New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    Does anyone have the pics for this HOW TO? I've fabricated my own rail mounted light bar and I'm trying to figure how to run wires without drilling holes in the roof...
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2017
  13. tommudd

    tommudd Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,848
    Likes Received:
    448
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Southeastern Ohio
    Easy , remove screws from moulding along drivers side door, ( alongside windshield ) run wires up in behind it, reinstall
     
  14. HDP

    HDP New Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2005
    Location:
    USA
    Thanks, but how do I get the wires inside?
     
  15. Myke

    Myke Full Access Member

    Messages:
    563
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2016
    Location:
    USA
    Firewall in engine bay

    Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
     
  16. tommudd

    tommudd Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Messages:
    17,848
    Likes Received:
    448
    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2005
    Location:
    Southeastern Ohio
    There are a couple of places where there are rubber plugs that you can run the wires through . Drivers side near steering column