How to: replace a radiator

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

liberty84

Full Access Member
Reaction score
First of all guys, i am no mechanic just a guy that enjoys working on cars over the weekends.

Changing the rad is not hard at all, but it can take some time, i didnt know and precedures or steps, I just started to take stuff apart amd it seemd it worked for me.

Ok First thing i did was disconnect the Upper Hose, Lower Hose the reservoir hose.
upper and res.
You must be registered for see images attach

lower

Next, i removed the electric fan
2 10mm bolts that are on the in side and unplug the wires

Ok with the fan out now you need to remove 4 (2 on each side)10mm bolts (note that i have a 05 sport model with the 42rle with the external ****** cooler)

there is one on each side of this

and theres is 2 on the lower side as well, (the ones holding the rad for the ac and ****** cooler) i used an extension and did it thru the grill, i find it a bit easier

now it should look like this and to give you and idea of were the bolts are
left side

right side

By now the radiator should be loose and the ac rad and the ****** rad have some clips where they sit in place.
The old radiator has some platics so it seats in place, i removed those while still having it inside the engine bay
2 on the side where the 2 10mm bolts were

and 2 at the bottom

once you have that done, its time to take it out, tjkj had advice me in taking the battery and tray out so it would be "easier" to take out the rad, i found it imposible to so with out removen the battery traynono.gif

so i learned....and i did as i was told:D

and it came right out