how to do touch up properly?

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i have a pretty bad chip and im starting to see rust coming through, so far i have the dupli color primer filler touch up, mopar color matched touch up and duplicolor clear touch up...at my work we have a fiberglass tip pen for removing the rust and bubbled paint in the chip but idk exactly how i should go about repairing this should i clean the chip with a fiberglass pen the do spot putty or primer/filler then touch up or what??? or if any1 has a good link to touch up how to that would be appreciated too...hears a picture of the scratch:

Attachments

• 0912001830.jpg
    0912001830.jpg
    99 KB · Views: 38

speedracerbubba

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I am not a professional by any means and if I am wrong I hope someone will correct me, but..

You want to get the rust off and maybe give it a quick shot of primer. Once that dries you can apply some of your touch up paint and once it dries give it a nice wet sanding and then buff it to a shine.

Actually found a good link on autopia link

cplchris

Full Access Member
Reaction score
i know the basics of it and thanks for the link to the how to but im more or less wondering how in depth i should go as fas as prepping the chip for touch up paint

deekny

Reaction score
what i have done in the past for deep scratches is to put paint on the damaged spot then sand it until it's flat. i used the small bottles of paint from www.touchuppaintonline.com and i also got clearcoat from them, it matched very well. if you use clearcoat, they told me to leave it alone for a month before buffing/waxing since the clearcoat stays soft for a long time.

67Customs

Full Access Member
Reaction score