Help diagnosing bad fuel economy + engine lights

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

slamgranderson

Reaction score
Hello,

This is my first time posting here. I have an 04 liberty with 110k miles, and a few months ago I started getting really bad gas milage accompanied by an engine light. The engine light goes on and off. Usually it will come on for about 300 miles, then go off for 50-100, then come back on again. But these days it's on more than it's off.

I am getting only 17 or 16 mpgs on the highway, and my engine light coded for a P0302 or Cylinder 2 misfire. I took it to a shop and they told me it was a bad fuel injector. Regrettably I was in CO at the time and had no tools so I paid them almost $300 to replace it. Then a few weeks later, the engine light goes back on with the same code. So then I replaced the Cyl 2 spark plug. The plug seemed kinda fouled, with a chipped electrode. But the new plug didn't resolve the engine light. Then I swapped the coil packs on the 1st and 2nd cylinder. When I did this, it threw a different code: P2098 - Post Catalyst Fuel Trim System Too Lean Bank 2. I researched this code on this forum and it seems like it can mean a lot of different things.

Most recently, the engine light went off, then when it came back on it was back to P0302 or cyl 2 misfire. So the new spark plugs didn't solve the issue, and neither did swapping the coil packs, because cyl 1 didnt misfire when using the pack that used to be on cyl 2.