Help!!!! 2005 CRD Won't Start

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

En4cr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Hey y'all, I was going to go out and get some fuel. Started the jeep, it ran for 30 seconds then it just died. It cranks, but it won't start. The battery is a newish (April 2011) Optima Red Top. The battery cables are tight, but I am not a mechanic to know

En4cr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The fuel filter was replaced last year with the EGR. No, I still have about half a tank of fuel. What is the key sentry?

JLRockies

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Air in the fuel lines. Probably from the fuel head. Prime and bleed.

I'm not sure why people come up the most least-likely scenarios to troubleshoot a problem.

En4cr

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I doubt that it is air in the fuel lines. It has never been run out of fuel. It started fine on Friday and yesterday when I was running around the old neighborhood. I was going to get fuel and do some errands for my parents when the Jeep started, then after 30 seconds died and it cranks but won't start. At least there is a Jeep dealer in this tiny town where my parents live

Billwill

Full Access Member
Reaction score
If you have the SKIM system when you turn on the ignition a light comes on showing a key symbol with a line through it. This should go out as you start the vehicle and not come back on again. if the ECU is not happy that the SKIM is sending through the correct code...ie. someone trying to hot wire the Jeep...the ECU drops the Auto Shutdown Relay after thirty seconds and lights up the SKIM light.
Air gets into the fuel lines very easy....you need to prime the filter to make sure all air is out.

En4cr

Full Access Member
Reaction score