Head Removal/Replacement

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

James Bricken

Reaction score
I did a quick search with negative results.

I'm new to this forum so let me explain my situation. I'm a mechanic but I don't work on American cars. I have taken on this project as a favor to an existing customer.

The car in question a 2002 Liberty with a 3.7 V6. What has happened is that a rocker jumped off the lifter and got smashed by the cam lobe and broke the lifter seat (#2 intake).

First question is: can we expect any other damage; to the piston etc? The valve appears OK but owner says leak down test indicates intake valve not sealing.

The second issue is: like I said I have never worked on this motor. Is there anything I should know before taking the head off; like locking the chain tensioners or something? Can I just pull the head or do I have to take the front off the motor? Are any special tools required that I may not have? THe plan is to just replace the one head, but I may replace all the lifters if that is deemed a good idea.

Can I get a quick rundown procedure for removing the head?

Thanks for your time and assistance.

james

James Bricken

Reaction score
You work at a shop that doesn't have All Data? Weird.

No, I own a shop and I don't pay for that data because I would never use it. Like I said: I don't (normally) work on American cars. For the cars I do work on I have about $15,000 worth of factory manuals.

TwoBobsKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Welcome to the forum! (welcome)