Garage can't get code for diagnostics

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

frank4360

Reaction score
Hello

I have a 2003 Cherokee with 2.8 diesel engine that has done just over 200,000 kilometres (about 125,000 miles). I bought it in October 2016 and it has run fine for several thousand kilometres.

Recently it has become very difficult to start, and my local garage has identified that there is insufficient pressure when trying to start (sorry, not technical enough to provide more info).

The garage is not a Jeep garage (we live a long way from any town) and he has tried using the diagnostic connection in the Jeep, but he does not have, and cannot get, the code required to decipher the information.

Is this normal? Or has anyone any idea how to get the relevant code?

Sorry to be vague, but I am not technical!!

Thanks in advance.

Frank

JeepinJarhead03

Full Access Member
Reaction score
if you have an engine light on and need to get the codes, get in the jeep and shut the door. insert the key and without starting the vehicle:

turn it to the ACC position
then off
turn it to the ACC position
then off
turn it to the ACC positon and leave it, the P#### codes will display on the odometer

also: the fuel filter needs to be changed about every 40,000 kilometers or sooner depending on the quality of the fuel. there is also a primer(a pump button) and bleeder on the filter head. if for one reason or another there has been some air get into the system a general mechanic should be able to figure that out for you or, if you feel comfortable trying it yourself the CRD in this video should be set up fairly similar to yours. the fuel bleeding sequence starts at 10 minutes. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNclI7S_TgE any idea when the last time the fuel filter was changed?