Front Upper Control Arm Ball Joint Grease

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Adam Roby

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I bought two new front upper control arms, and the ball joints have the grease nipples. I was so eager to try out my new grease gun, so I promptly filled both ball joints with some premium synthetic bearing grease.

I am just wondering, was this a dumb thing to do before installing the arms?
Does it really matter? I have never done this before...

I figured I would have easier access before the installation, could more easily make sure they were full, but now I am wondering if when installing they will just be squeezed empty from manipulating. Probably better it has some grease in there, rather than possibly forgetting to grease them and going on a test drive with them "dry" (factory had something in there, black stuff, not much of it.).

ltd02

Comfortably numb
KJ Supporting Member
Reaction score
I wouldn't think it would matter. If some squeezes out just squirt some more in when done. Like you said, better than forgetting all together.

uss2defiant

Full Access Member
Reaction score
I believe the FSM recommends NLGI Grade 2 EP, GC-LB.

I also read that you don't want to mix grease that are made from a different base too.

Last edited:

Adam Roby

Full Access Member
Reaction score
It might be under it's main brand:

CANADIAN TIRE CORP.
- MOTOMASTER FARM & TRUCK GREASE GC-LB
- MOTOMASTER SEMI-SYNTHETIC EXTREME PRESSURE GREASE GC-LB
- MOTOMASTER WHEEL BEARING & CHASSIS LUBE GC-LB

CactusJacked

Full Access Member
Reaction score