First projects on new Jeep

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

mtbspm

Reaction score
I'm new to Jeeps and new to the forum.

I just bought an '04 KJ with 87,000 miles and after a couple months noticed that I need valve cover gaskets and downstream O2 sensors (engine codes and running roughly).

I'm also experiencing a burning smell when I come to a stop. I guess it could be the oil from the valve covers but it smells a bit different.

I'm currently working on the valve covers, and I found a plug disconnected under the air cleaner but can't figure out what it is or where the other end is. Any help in figuring these couple things out would be greatly appreciated.

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
Should be checking/ changing everything , all fluids, oil, cooling, front and rear diffs, transfer case, transmission , tune up, air filter, PCV, etc.
Make sure you are using what is called for, like NGK cooper plugs, HOAT coolant etc.
Any time I buy one I do all of the above, check upper and lower control arms, front lower ball joints etc etc etc
Then of course at that mileage and age, springs and shocks. You know they are sagged .

mtbspm

Reaction score
I've started doing some of that. I'm slowly going through all the fluids. I've done oil and diffs. I've put a new air filter in as well.

The Ball Joints all do need replacing, You mentioned the control arms, what am I looking for on those?

With the way it rides on rough roads, shocks and springs are necessary as well, just not sure exactly what direction I want to do in with that yet.

tommudd

Staff member
Reaction score
I've started doing some of that. I'm slowly going through all the fluids. I've done oil and diffs. I've put a new air filter in as well.

The Ball Joints all do need replacing, You mentioned the control arms, what am I looking for on those?