Air Bag light on - Switched the seat out

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Ripshod

Reaction score
Hi folks. I'm a newbie here even thought I bought my Liberty new in '02 and just sold it last week. I've searched the forum but I haven't a clue where to start with a certain problem. I hope someone can help.

As part of prepping the car for sale, I needed to repair upholstery damage to the left bolster on the driver's seat. 91,000 miles of my bony butt sliding over it had worn a big hole in the cloth. It also had a burn hole in the crotch area. I don't remember when that happened but I'm sure it made a big impression at the time. I found and bought a scrap seat from a rolled Liberty. It was a power seat (my original seat was not power), but it had an identical hole in the seat bottom so it was dirt cheap. I took both seats to an upholsterer and had him remove the center panel from the back of the scrap seat, use that to repair the seat bottom and put that seat bottom in the car.

With me so far? Anyway, the upholstery guy and I couldn't get the power seat to work when we tested it, so he took the seat cushion off the power seat and mounted my original frame and runners to it. After it was installed, I noticed that the AIR BAG light was on but I hadn't plugged in the wires yet so I wasn't surprised. On the morning when I sold it, I plugged it in and - the light stayed on. Normally, I would just explain the situation to the buyer and let him decide whether to take it or leave it, but I sold the car to a very close neighbor and a good friend. His kids play with mine. I felt that I had caused this problem and I really want to fix this.