ABS light on...I dont have abs...

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
That's interesting, yet strange. Why is it throwing a code?
Try a hard re-set.
Take both battery terminals off & tape or clamp them together for 50 minutes, isolated away from battery.
Re- connect terminals to battery. Does that fix the ABS light from coming on?
 

Nicodemus Arceneaux

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
That's interesting, yet strange. Why is it throwing a code?
Try a hard re-set.
Take both battery terminals off & tape or clamp them together for 50 minutes, isolated away from battery.
Re- connect termianls to battery. Does that fix the ABS light from coming on?
about to try that, will report back..
 

Nicodemus Arceneaux

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
That's interesting, yet strange. Why is it throwing a code?
Try a hard re-set.
Take both battery terminals off & tape or clamp them together for 50 minutes, isolated away from battery.
Re- connect terminals to battery. Does that fix the ABS light from coming on?
no luck there... i have previously replaced the rear diff VSS/"ABS" sensor and harness (the closest thing i have to "ABS")..
 

LabRat

Searching for the 10mm Socket
Joined
Apr 29, 2021
Messages
671
Reaction score
517
Location
Bellevue NE
no luck there... i have previously replaced the rear diff VSS/"ABS" sensor and harness (the closest thing i have to "ABS")..
That's where I would start. I dug around a bit and that is the only thing connected to the ABS MIL.
 

Nicodemus Arceneaux

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
That's where I would start. I dug around a bit and that is the only thing connected to the ABS MIL.
I have already replaced both the sensor and harness. all readings are accurate at the VSS/ABS sensor, and I have speedometer function. I'm stumped... been pouring over service manual but there isn't any clear directions to look for next.

What I don't get is my Libby doesn't have ABS at all.. How's it throwing a light if there's no computer installed.. in theory shouldn't this light not even operate after cluster check? Perhaps it's a ghost of my Cherokee long dead....
 

LabRat

Searching for the 10mm Socket
Joined
Apr 29, 2021
Messages
671
Reaction score
517
Location
Bellevue NE
I have already replaced both the sensor and harness. all readings are accurate at the VSS/ABS sensor, and I have speedometer function. I'm stumped... been pouring over service manual but there isn't any clear directions to look for next.

What I don't get is my Libby doesn't have ABS at all.. How's it throwing a light if there's no computer installed.. in theory shouldn't this light not even operate after cluster check? Perhaps it's a ghost of my Cherokee long dead....
Time for a code reader!
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
What kind of scanner are you using? Try a shop scanner...
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
Can you confirm your Brake block looks exactly like this?
You must be registered for see images attach

Someone with a good shop scanner like Snap on Ultra, should be able check for any dash communications errors.
Could it still have a stored ABS code? Or some other brake error? This is just too strange.
 

Nicodemus Arceneaux

New Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2021
Messages
17
Reaction score
1
Can you confirm your Brake block looks exactly like this?
You must be registered for see images attach

Someone with a good shop scanner like Snap on Ultra, should be able check for any dash communications errors.
Could it still have a stored ABS code? Or some other brake error? This is just too strange.
I’m at work right now but yes that matches my brake block

Wait.. the instrument has been replaced by previous owner. Could that be the issue? Is there a way to relearn the cluster?
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
Cluster replaced ok then...there are different series of clusters.
My 2004 Canadian import for instance is type 33, what does your read as?
You must be registered for see images attach
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
Ok..Help..
Can anyone else with a 2002 kJ in MPH help to confirm that type 35 is the correct cluster on theirs as well?
 

LibertyTC

Well-Known Member
Staff member
Moderator
Joined
Oct 24, 2008
Messages
8,314
Reaction score
978
Location
B.C. Canada
We sure have come full circle now, with no resolution.
Suddenly a small piece of electrical tape over the ABS light sounds like a good inexpensive repair. ;)
I'm trying to imagine what the dealer would charge to diagnose this most unusual situation.
 

Billwill

Full Access Member
Joined
Nov 26, 2009
Messages
1,979
Reaction score
446
Location
White River, South Africa
Page 8J-7 of the 2002 Jeep KJ Service manual states....."When the vehicle does not have this equipment (ABS) a DBRIII Scantool must be used to disable the erroneous indicator"

In other words the Dealer's DBRIII Scantool must be used!

Edited to insert "does not"
 
Last edited:
Top