A/c Compressor Bypass

Discussion in 'KJ General Discussion' started by Sirthor1881, Apr 23, 2011.

  1. Sirthor1881

    Sirthor1881 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Nicholasville,Ky
    So I have searched a few threads on here and LOST, and I am looking to bypass my a/c compressor due to the clutch shorting out. I need a temp. bypass for now. My question is: Is everyone using the belt made for a kj w/o A/c, and just removing the clutch/pulley assembly? Or does anyone have a good part number for one I can use? I never saw a part number listed on the about 25 threads I read through.

    Thank You

    Richard
     
  2. ridenby

    ridenby Gold Supporter

    Messages:
    4,289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Location:
    Kentucky
    I am using Duralast 827K6.
     
  3. Sirthor1881

    Sirthor1881 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2009
    Location:
    Nicholasville,Ky
    Well, Just my luck that belt is not available near me....Anyone else have a good part number?
     
  4. ridenby

    ridenby Gold Supporter

    Messages:
    4,289
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Location:
    Kentucky
    No Vatozone in Nicholasville ? Go over to Lex?
     
  5. family KJ

    family KJ JPOTM WINNER

    Messages:
    393
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Location:
    Tampa, Florida
    Have you removed the compressor... If so, all you need to do is follow the diagram in the thread below, get some string and measure the total length needed once you have installed over all the pulleys.. I used a 79.5" belt, but routed it per my picture attached in thread.. Does not matter the brand, just the total diameter



    http://www.jeepkj.com/forum/showthread.php?t=48454
     
  6. Akedos

    Akedos Full Access Member

    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Location:
    Elmira, NY
    Honestly I can't remember if I used an 82.5" or a 79.5" belt... it was one of the two though.
     
  7. Prospect62

    Prospect62 Full Access Member

    Messages:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    New Hartford, NY
    I ended up using a 80.5" belt, routed in the exact same path as family KJ did it above. FYI future A/C compressor bypassers, you may need to try a couple different sizes.

    Thanks to all who contributed here, you really saved me some time.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2011