2011 Liberty rough idle after start then dies (VIDEO)

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

nasferatu

Reaction score
I have a 2011 Liberty with 175k miles that I can get to turn over but engine runs very rough if I'm pressing the gas pedal and then dies completely when I let off the gas pedal. *After it dies I smell gas when I exit the driver door. I feel like that could be a helpful piece of information maybe* A week ago I just took it on an 1800 mile road trip and it was solid the whole way.

No check engine light or codes showing. I'm no mechanic but here's what I've done so far:

- checked the battery which was @ 12.93v
- removed the coils and plugs
- checked plug gaps... 5 were within spec, 1 was double spec (#5 cylinder)
- replaced double spec plug with a used one that is within spec from another 2012 Liberty
- cleaned all plugs with a brush
- Ohmd all plugs with multimeter and all are good within spec

With the #5 spark plug gap being so far out of spec, I really expected that replacing that would resolve the issue, but it did not. I tried to start it and the issue remains. So, here I am.. PLEASE HELP!!

Below is a link to the audio/video of what it is doing. I have no clue where to start looking for this particular issue so any and all help is very much appreciated!!

xc_hide_links_from_guests_guests_error_hide_media

David13

Full Access Member
Reaction score
Sounds like fuel starvation. I'd check fuel pressure.

Could be dirty injectors or bad injectors.

Try to find out what it is not.

Check answers to previous similar threads below.
dc

nasferatu

Reaction score
I agree, it sounds fuel starved.