2006 Liberty Cylinder 2 Misfire

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

Christos Karplus

Reaction score
Hello everyone, I am new to this forum, however I have been searching around and gathering bits and pieces of information as I go along with this project. To start, I was given a 2006 Jeep Liberty by a family friend, with the foreknowledge that it had a cylinder #2 misfire and would need this solved along with new ball joints to pass Massachusetts state inspection. Now, I am no mechanic guru, however I have a pretty good idea of how to use tools and was not afraid to tackle the project, so I dove in headfirst and here is what I have done:

I started off by messing around with the ignition coils, switching them between cylinders and seeing if the misfire code would switch to another cylinder. With no change, I figured my next best step would be a compression test. I found an old compression testing kit that my father had from way back and first performed a dry compression test. I determined that cylinder #2 was dead with 0 compression, and the others were sitting between 90-100 psi. At this point, I read that putting some oil in the cylinders and re-doing the compression test would help me to further diagnose.. Upon putting oil in I would build compression on a few strokes, leading me to believe that the piston rings were probably toast. Without proper tools for a leakdown test and me being enthusiastic and into the project for free at this point, I decided I would tear into the engine