06 Liberty stuck in Part-time 4wd

Disclaimer: Links on this page pointing to Amazon, eBay and other sites may include affiliate code. If you click them and make a purchase, we may earn a small commission.

alyciadad

Reaction score
Hello, I am new to JeepKJ.com.

I have a 2006 Jeep Liberty with Selec-Trac. Recently the bushing on the selector cable at the transfer case completely blew out. My father-in-law replaced the bushing with a MOPAR replacement. Now the shifter feels normal when I use it, and the indicator light on the dash is working properly.

When I got the Jeep back I shifted into Full-time 4wd just to try it out and this worked fine. I could tell it was in Full-time because turning was normal and you could feel the difference when accelerating (4 tires pulling instead of 2). When I pushed the lever back down to the 2wd position the Jeep got stuck in part-time 4wd. Clearly identifiable by the way it felt on dry pavement. I know better than to drive it in this condition so i parked it for the night.

When I woke up the next morning I tried to back out of the driveway and it was clearly still stuck in part-time so i parked it and took another vehicle to work. When I got home that afternoon I tried it again and it was in 2wd again. Just from sitting, it went back to 2wd. So I drove it and tried the same process again and now it is stuck in part-time again. It won't shift to 2wd and it won't shift to full-time.

My father-in-law is hoping that maybe it's just the bushing on the lever side of the selector cable, but I was trying to research the issue and wanted to see what you guys thought about this issue. Any information would be greatly appreciated!

TwoBobsKJ

Full Access Member
Reaction score
The SeleTrac likes to be shifted in and out of Full Time frequently - keeps the clutches working properly.